In 2017 let’s celebrate 200 years of sharing the Bible

Join the Celebration

Tas Tour 200 – Bike for Bibles

Come and join us on this special ride to commemorate Bible Society’s 200th year in Australia. Over 14 days we will take in some of the best roads in Tasmania (if not Australia) as we share in fellowship together and raise vital funds to support the work of Bible Society.

Riders will be raising funds to support a literacy program run in refugee camps in South Sudan, for people fleeing violence and persecution in their own country. Due to decades of civil war, many South Sudanese people have not received an education and are illiterate. We are working with the Bible Society in South Sudan to teach these people to read and write, empower them in their community and to introduce them to the message of Jesus in the Bible-based resources to bring about healing to a broken nation.

Schedule

  • Day 1 – Friday 24th February – Travel to Riverbend Youth Centre (near Smithton), North West Tasmania
  • Day 2 – Saturday 25th February – Riverbend Youth Centre (near Smithton) to Marrawah and Return 105ks
  • Day 3 – Sunday 26th February  – Riverbend Youth Centre (near Smithton) to Burnie via Stanley and Table Cape 109ks
  • Day 4 – Monday 27th February  – Burnie to Cradle Mountain via Yolla 122ks
  • Day 5 – Tuesday 28th February  – Rest day at Cradle Mountain
  • Day 6 – Wednesday 1st March  – Cradle Mountain to Strahan 148ks
  • Day 7 – Thursday 2nd March  – Strahan to Bronte Park 140ks
  • Day 8 – Friday 3rd March  – Bronte Park to Hobart 164ks
  • Day 9 – Saturday 4th March – Rest day in Hobart (optional Mount Wellington Climb)
  • Day 10 – Sunday 5th March –  Hobart to Swansea 135ks
  • Day 11 – Monday 6th March – Swansea to St. Helens 120ks
  • Day 12 – Tuesday 7th March – St. Helens to Scottsdale 100ks
    • Come and join us for the Scottsdale Celebration Night, 7:30pm, Scottsdale Gospel Hall
  • Day 13 – Wednesday 8th March – Scottsdale to Deloraine 110ks
  • Day 14 – Thursday 9th March – Deloraine to Burnie via Sheffield 2 options (a) via the Gog (b) via Railton
    • Burnie Celebration Night, 7:30pm, Lifehouse Church, Wivenhoe
  • Day 15 – Friday 10th March – Travel Home

Support the Riders

If you would like to sponsor a rider please click on this link.

 

If you are in Tasmania, there will be a number of events to support the riders on their journey. The following events are confirmed:

  • 5 March – Hobart Welcome: Hillsong Hobart (9.00am)
  • 7 March – Scottsdale Celebration Night: Scottsdale Gospel Hall (7.30pm)
  • 9 March – Burnie Celebration Night: Lifehouse Church, Wivenhoe (7.30pm)

Register here

More information

For information on the ride, please contact Mark on events@biblesociety.org.au

 

Comments are closed.